SAE International Award for Outstanding AWIM Volunteers Honoring Bill Agnew


This award recognizes volunteers who develop students' understanding and experience in math and science by helping teachers implement the A World In Motion® (AWIM®) program in the classroom.

The award honors Dr. William G. Agnew, who was instrumental in establishing AWIM and supported the program throughout his lifetime.


  • Volunteer experience must have occurred during the most recent academic year.
  • All AWIM volunteers are eligible, including retirees, industry professionals and university/high school students.


Members of the Selection Committee are not eligible for the award while serving on the committee. Two years must pass before former members of the Selection Committee are eligible to receive the award.


This includes a certificate and honorarium and is presented at a location meaningful to the recipient.

Past Recipients:

2020 Georgina M. Pietrzak General Motors
2019 Mark Herman General Motors (Retired)
2019 Tom Terry General Motors (Retired)
2016 Joanne Mabrey Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia Inc.
2015 Rosana Hull General Motors
2012 William P. Klein General Motors
2011 Robert Ferer General Motors
2010 Michael D. Adams General Motors
2009 Donald Anton Robins  
2008 Joseph G. Langhauser Jr. General Motors
2007 John Derosia Boeing Co.
2006 Melanie Giasson General Motors Engine Division
2005 John Demmer John Deere & Co.
2004 William C. Brubaker  

Nominations reopen  September 2024