SAE International Award for Quality Leadership Honoring Subir Chowdhury


This award recognizes those in the mobility industry who bring forth innovation and broaden the impact of quality in mobility engineering, design, and manufacturing. It brings an awareness to the beneficial impact provided to society-at-large that has been attained by mobility engineering through the use and power of quality in engineering.

The award was established in 2010 through a generous gift from Subir and Malini Chowdhury. Subir Chowdhury is one of the world’s leading management consultants. He has helped Fortune 500 companies save billions of dollars with improvements to their quality and performance. He has authored more than 15 books (many international bestsellers) and given dozens of talks on management and quality.


  • Leaders in academia or industry, who have contributed substantial skills and talent to advance and promote the principles and application of quality in Mobility Engineering.
  • Served in a leadership role for a minimum of five years.
  • Demonstrated success in leading at least one major quality initiative with proven impact on a product, process, and/or service.


Members of the Selection Committee are not eligible for this award while serving on the committee. Two years must pass before former members of the Selection Committee are eligible to receive the award.


This includes an honorarium and an award that is presented at an SAE Event.

Past Participants:

2021 Dr. Mohd Sapuan Salit Universiti Putra Malaysia
2019 Professor Michael Pecht University of Maryland
2018 Kush Shah General Motors
2017 Gerald Johnson General Motors
2015 Shahjada A Pahlovy, Ph.D. Dynax Corp.
2011 Glen Albert Barton Caterpillar Inc.
2010 James David Power JD Power and Associate

Nominations reopen  September 2024