SAE International Award for Student Technical Innovation in Mobility Honoring Henry O. Fuchs


This award recognizes students (individuals or teams) who have developed technological innovations in the mobility industry in their research or schoolwork.

This award honors the memory of Professor Henry O. Fuchs. Professor Fuchs participated in the SAE Fatigue Design & Evaluation Committee's research projects and founded the SAE Fatigue Concepts in Design short course.


Nominees must be students at the time of nomination and have demonstrated new and unique innovations or concepts that benefit the mobility industry which can include, but are not limited to, fatigue technology.


Members of the Selection Committee are not eligible for this award while serving on the committee. Two years must pass before former members of the Selection Committee are eligible to receive the award.


This includes an honorarium and a certificate that is presented at an SAE Event.

Past Recipients:

Spring 2013 Jonathan R. Hembree  
Fall 2013 Andrew Nissan  
Spring 2014 Peter Huffman  
Fall 2014 Jason Geathers University of Michigan
Spring 2016/Fall 2015 Mohammad J. Mahtabi Mississippi State University
Spring 2016 Katherine Avery University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Fall 2016 Kasra Ghahremani University of Waterloo
Spring 2017 Jifa Mei University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Fall 2017 Shin-Jang Sung University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Spring 2018 Xiao Wu Chongqing University
Fall 2018 Rakish Shrestha Auburn University
Spring 2019 Jonathan W. Pegues Auburn University
Fall 2019 Nilesh Gaonkar Carleton University
Spring 2020 Renan Luiz Ribeiro University of California
Fall 2020 Rakesh Ranjan University of Waterloo
Spring 2021 Ty Porter Colorado School of Mines
Fall 2021 Wenqing Zhou University of Michigan Ann Arbor
Spring 2022 Wanhua (Carol) Liang University of Waterloo
Fall 2022 Pooriya Dastranjy Nezhadfar University of Tehran

Nominations Accepted April 15 - May 31