SAE International Award for Teaching Excellence Honoring Gary Dickinson


This award honors an outstanding middle school teacher or a team of teachers who have made creative and exemplary use of the A World In Motion® (AWIM ®) program to develop students' understanding of math, science, and engineering.

This award was established through a generous gift from the SAE Detroit Section in 2001 to commemorate the life of industry leader, long-time GM executive Gary Dickinson, an advocate for providing math and science education to middle school students. Dickinson played a major role in the development of the AWIM program Motorized Toy Car and Glider Challenges.


  • Demonstrated, through qualitative and quantitative data, exemplary use of the AWIM curriculum.  
  • To be eligible for this award, nominees must be middle school teachers (individuals or teams) from public, parochial, or private schools.


Members of the Selection Committee are not eligible for this award while serving on the committee. Two years must pass before former members of the Selection Committee are eligible to receive the award.


This includes an honorarium and certificate presented to both the teacher and the middle school.

Past Recipients

2022 Connie Eisenhart Guardian Angels Catholic School
2022 Jane Wood Patterson Elementary School
2022 Sara Proctor Ethel W. Kight Elementary School
2021 Mia De la Rosa Sevilla West School
2020 Stephanie Budzban Country Place Leadership Academy
2020 Pam Walch East Hills Middle School
2019 Tiffany Graham Long Cane Middle School
2018 Lee Ann Hanner Callaway Middle School
2016 Southest Polk 7th Grade Science Team Southeast Polk Junior High School
2015 Bridgette Smith Valley View Elementary School
2013 Karen Rascon Kino Junior High School
2011 Kimberly Forbes Ferndale Middle School
2010 Trish Merrill Taylor Junior High School
2010 Karen Rascon Taylor Junior High School
2009 Trish Merrill Taylor Junior High School
2009 Karen Rascon Taylor Junior High School
2008 Shawn Lent Western Peaks Elementary School
2008 Becky Lynn Rose Western Peaks Elementary School
2008 Yvonne Yancey-Stroud Western Peaks Elementary School
2007 Angela Kirschner Western Peaks Elementary School
2006 Nicole Trombetta Hathaway Brown School
2005 Mary Sanders Derby Middle School
2005 Patricia Ann Schneider Derby Middle School
2004 Rick Comeau Lexington Public Schools
2004 Robyn Viloria William Diamond Middle School
2003 Tim A. Worthy Welborne Avenue Public School
2002 Pamela Schmitt St Patrick School
2001 Edith Cranor-Buck Western State College of Colorado

Nominations August 12 - September 30