SAE John Johnson Award for Outstanding Research in Diesel Engines

Established in 2008, this award recognizes outstanding accomplishments and leadership in the area of diesel engines. Two awards are given each year, one for Best Paper and the other, the Diesel Engine Research Medal, given to an individual for outstanding leadership in research and development in the field of diesel engines through a singular accomplishment or lifetime achievement.

The Best Paper award recognizes the authors of an original and outstanding technical paper presented at an SAE meeting on the subject of diesel engines in the on- or off-road industries. Preferably the paper will be published in an SAE Journal and must address research advancements in diesel engines regarding efficiency and low emissions achieved by innovative experimental and modeling research of the engine, fuel and/or after treatment systems. Oral presentation scores must also be above average. If the lead author of the paper is a student, the material forming the subject matter must be based on personal work or a result of their thesis research. The best paper award is selected by the award committee.

The Diesel Engine Research Medal recognizes an outstanding leader whose professional career has focused on advancing the field of diesel engines. The award recognizes technical innovations through experimental studies and modeling research of the engine, fuel and/or after treatment systems. In addition, the nominee's contribution to SAE literature, activities and programs will also be considered. To nominate an individual, complete the nomination form above by the indicated nomination deadline. Any additional letters of support can be sent to

This award is funded through generous contributions from Dr. John H. Johnson, his colleagues and former students. Dr. Johnson is a Presidential Professor Emeritus with the Department of Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics at Michigan Technological University (MTU) and he is a fellow of SAE International and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He is an expert in the field of diesel engines and his experience spans a wide range of analysis and experimental work related to advanced engine concepts, emissions studies, fuel systems, engine simulation and exhaust aftertreatment. Prior to joining MTU, he was a Project Engineer at the U.S. Army Tank Automotive Center and Chief Engineer of Applied Engine Research at International Harvester Company.

The Best Paper award consists of a framed certificate and a $2000 honorarium for the lead author of the technical paper and framed certificates for co-authors. The individual awardee of the Diesel Engine Research Medal receives a framed certificate, a medal and a $2,000 honorarium. The awards are presented at the WCX World Congress Experience or other appropriate SAE meeting.

Year  Name Employer
2021 Dr. Athanasios G. Konstandopoulos  Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
2020 Donald W. Stanton   Cummins
David Kovacs    IAV GmbH
Marian Mennig IAV GmbH
Reza Rezaei IAV GmbH
Christoph Bertram IAV GmbH
2019 Stefan Pischinger FEV Group GmbH
Mats Andersson Chalmers University of Technology
Ingemar Denbratt Chalmers University of Technology
Jan Eismark Chalmers University of Technology
Anders Karlsson Chalmers University of Technology
Magnus Christensen AB Volvo
2018 David E. Foster, Ph.D. University of Wisconsin – Madison, Retired
Cynthia Webb PACCAR
Michael Carter California Air Resources Board
Cary Henry Southwest Research Institute
Christopher Sharp Southwest Research Institute
Seungju Yoon California Air Resources Board
2017 Dennis Siebers Sandia National Laboratories, Retired
Noud Maes Eindhoven University of Technology
Nico Dam Eindhoven University of Technology
Bart Somers Eindhoven University of Technology
Tommaso Lucchini Politecnico di Milano 
Gianluca D'Errico Politecnico di Milano 
Gilles Hardy FPT Industrial
2016 Prof Gianluca D'Errico Politecnico di Milano
Nico Dam Eindhoven University Of Technology
Gilles Hardy PE FPT Motorenforschung AG
Tommaso Lucchini Politecnico di Milano
Noud Maes MSc Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
Dr Dennis L Siebers  
Bart Somers Eindhoven University Of Technology
2015 Dr Rolf D Reitz Univ of Wisconsin
2014 Dr Daniel Flowers PhD Lawrence Livermore National Lab
Randy Hessel Univ of Wisconsin Madison
Mark P. B. Musculus Sandia National Laboratories
Jacqueline O'Connor PhD Pennsylvania State University
Dr Rolf D Reitz Univ of Wisconsin
2013 Clay Arnett Cummins Inc
David Langenderfer Cummins Inc
Michael Ruth Cummins Inc
Arvind Suresh Cummins Inc
2012 Miles Brammer IAV GmbH
Dr Lutz Kraemer PhD IAV GmbH
Dr-Ing Kay Langeheinecke PE IAV
Jochen Schaeffner IAV GmbH
Friedemann Schrade IAV GmbH
2011 Caroline Genzale Georgia Institute of Technology
Cherian Idicheria General Motors Global R & D
Julien Manin PhD Sandia National Laboratories
Mark P. B. Musculus Sandia National Laboratories
Lyle M Pickett Sandia National Laboratories
Dr Dennis L Siebers Sandia National Laboratories
2010 Takayuki Ito PhD Japan Automobile Research Institute
Takaaki Kitamura Japan Automobile Research Institute
2009 Dr Andre Boehman Pennsylvania State Univ
Glen C Martin Caterpillar Inc
Charles Mueller Sandia National Laboratories
2008 Alexander Sappok Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Victor W Wong Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Nomination Deadline: September 1

Download Nomination Form