SAE John Johnson Award for Outstanding Research in Diesel Engines

Established in 2008, this recognizes outstanding accomplishments and leadership in the area of diesel engines. Two awards are given each year, one for best paper and the other for outstanding leadership in research and development in the field of diesel engines through a singular accomplishment or lifetime achievement.

The paper award recognizes the authors of an original and outstanding technical paper presented at an SAE meeting on the subject of diesel engines in the on- or off-road industries. The paper must be published in SAE International Engines or Fuel & Lubricants Journals and must address research advancements in diesel engines regarding efficiency and low emissions achieved by innovative experimental and modeling research of the engine, fuel and/or after treatment systems. Oral presentation scores must also be above average. If the lead author of the paper is a student, the material forming the subject matter must be based on personal work or a result of their thesis research. The best paper award is selected by the award committee.

The individual award recognizes an outstanding leader whose professional career has focused on advancing the field of diesel engines. The award recognizes technical innovations through experimental studies and modeling research of the engine, fuel and/or after treatment systems. In addition, the nominee's contribution to the SAE literature, activities and programs will also be considered. To nominate an individual, complete the nomination form above by the indicated nomination deadline. Any additional letters of support can be sent to

This award is funded through generous contributions from Dr. John H. Johnson, his colleagues and former students. Dr. Johnson is a Presidential Professor with the Department of Mechanical-Engineering Mechanics at Michigan Technological University (MTU) and he is a fellow of SAE International and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He is an expert in the field of diesel engines and his experience spans a wide range of analysis and experimental work related to advanced engine concepts, emissions studies, fuel systems and engine simulation. Prior to joining MTU, he was a Project Engineer at the U.S. Army Tank Automotive Center and Chief Engineer of Applied Engine Research at International Harvester Company.

The award consists of a framed certificate and a $1000 honorarium for the lead author of the technical paper and framed certificates for co-authors. The individual awardee receives a certificate, a medal and a $1,000 honorarium. The awards are presented at the WCX World Congress Experience or other appropriate SAE meeting.

Nomination Deadline: September 1

Download Nomination Form