SAE/Timken-Howard Simpson Automotive Transmission and Driveline Innovation Award

Established in 2007, this award recognizes an engineer from the automotive industry for outstanding contributions to the technology progress and dissemination in the area of automotive transmission and driveline. The award acknowledges new ideas, concepts, innovations or applications that will assist in improving this technology.

This award has been funded through an endowment from the Timken Company to honor Howard Simpson, an extremely talented and innovative engineer who has invented and developed a revolutionary planetary gear set which constituted the basis for the Ford C4 and C5 transmission produced over more than 20 years starting in 1964, for the famous Chrysler Torqueflite transmission, a ground-breaking unit introduced in 1956 and for several General Motors transmission models. The award is also testimony to Timken's commitment to technical innovation and creativity.

The nominee must meet the following criteria:

  • Demonstrated significant contribution to the advancement of transmission and driveline technology
  • Recognition may be for a singular accomplishment or lifetime achievement

The award consists of an engraved crystal memento and a $2000 honorarium and will be presented at the Transmission and Driveline Technologies Symposium.


Year  Name Employer
2015 Robert Fischer AVL North America Inc
2013 Dr-Ing Juergen J Greiner ZF Getriebe GmbH
2012 Peter Tenberge Technische Universitat Chemnitz
2011 Mircea Gradu PhD FCA US LLC
2010 Pierre A Lepelletier  
2009 Karl-Heinz Bauer Honeywell Automotive Inc
2008 Berthold Martin FCA US LLC

Nomination Deadline: Extended to Jan. 15

Download Nomination Form