Wright Brothers Medal

Established in 1927, this award annually recognizes the author(s) of the best paper(s) relating to the invention, development, design, construction, or operation of an aircraft and/or spacecraft presented at a meeting of the Society or any of its sections. Consideration is given to the value of the author(s) contribution to the state of the art in furthering flight technology, whether it pertains to aircraft or spacecraft systems or their parts, components, subsystems, or accessories.

This award honors Orville (an early SAE member) and Wilbur Wright, the first successful builders and operators of heavier-than-air flying equipment.

Year  Name Employer

Yuzhi Jin

Tsinghua University

Yuping Qian

Yangjun Zhang  

Weilin Zhuge
2017 Christian Boehlmann Fraunhofer IFAM
Wolfgang Hintze IPMT TU Hamburg-Harburg
Philip Koch Fraunhofer IFAM
Simon Kothe Fraunhofer IFAM
Christian Moeller Fraunhofer IFAM
Hans Christian Schmidt Fraunhofer IFAM
Jörg Wollnack TU Hamburg-Harburg
2016 Tadas P. Bartkus Ohio Aerospace Institute
Peter Struk NASA John Glenn Research Center
Jen-Ching Tsao Ohio Aerospace Institute
2014 Troy Beechner Mainstream Engineering Corp
Kyle Ian Merical Mainstream Engineering Corp
Paul Yelvington Mainstream Engineering Corp
2013 Ing Rafael Fernandes de Oliveira  
2012 Jerry Bieszczad PhD Creare Inc
Michael Izenson PhD Creare Inc
George Ford Kiwada  
Dr Patrick J Magari Creare Inc
2011 Dr Matthew Barker Stirling Dynamics Limited
Dr Luke Hickson PhD Stirling Dynamics Limited
Dr Joseph K-W Lam PhD Airbus UK
Dr Stephen Paul Tomlinson PhD  
Darran Venn Stirling Dynamics Limited
2010 Magnus Engstrom Saab AB
Dr-Ing Henrik Kihlman PhD DELFOi
2009 Atle Honne SINTEF
John T James PhD NASA
Dirk Kampf KT Automotive GmbH
Kristin Kaspersen SINTEF
Dr Thomas Limero Wyle Laboratories Inc
Dr Ariel V. Macatangay Wyle Laboratories Inc
Dr Herbert Mosebach KT Automotive GmbH
Paul D Mudgett NASA Johnson Space Center
Henrik Schumann-Olsen SINTEF
Wolfgang Supper European Space Agency
Gijsbert Tan  
2008 Carl Jack Ercol Johns Hopkins Univ
2007 Peter O Andreychuk PE RSC Energija
Nikolay N Protasov RSC Energija
Dr Nikolay N Samsonov PhD NIICHIMMASH
Dr Yury Sinyak PhD Institute of Biomedical Problems
Vladimir M Skuratov Institute of Biomedical Problems
2006 James R Akse PhD Umpqua Research Co
James E Atwater Umpqua Research Co
Roger Dahl Umpqua Research Co
John W Fisher NASA Ames Research Center
Frank C Garmon Umpqua Research Co
Neal Hadley  
Richard R. Wheeler Jr Umpqua Research Co
Thomas W Williams Umpqua Research Co
2005 John W Fisher NASA Ames Research Center
Dr Michael T Flynn NASA Ames Research Center
Eric John Litwiller PhD NASA Ames Research Center
Martin Reinhard Stanford Univ
2004 Philip Freeman Boeing Co
2003 Timothy J Bencic NASA John Glenn Research Center
Colin Bidwell NASA John Glenn Research Center
Prof Michael Papadakis PhD Wichita State Univ
Arief Rachman Wichita State Univ
See-Cheuk Wong Wichita State Univ
2002 Gary L Boyd Ceramic Engineering Consulting Inc
Alfred W Fuller Honeywell Engines Systems & Services
Jack Moy Honeywell Engines Systems & Services
2001 Maurizio Apra Alenia Aerospazio
Ing Marcello D'Amore Univ of Roma La Sapienza
Maria Sabrina Sarto Univ of Roma La Sapienza
Ing Alberto Scarlatti Univ of Roma La Sapienza
Dr Valeria Volpi Alenia Aerospazio
1999 Jeremy S Agte US Air Force
Robert Sandusky George Washington Univ
Dr-Ing Jaroslaw Sobieski PhD NASA Langley Research Center
1998 Dr Anthony D Andre NASA Ames Research Center
Dr David Foyle NASA Ames Research Center
Becky Lee Hooey Monterey Technologies Inc
Barbara Kanki NASA Ames Research Center
Dr Robert S McCann NASA Ames Research Center
1997 Dr James R Fuller Boeing Co
1996 Ing Bradford Alan Moravec Boeing Co
Michael W Patnoe Boeing Integrated Defense Systems
1995 Ryan Robert Wilkins Jr Boeing Aircraft & Missile Systems
1994 Timothy Geels Boeing Co
Tom McDavid Boeing Commercial Airplanes
Greg Robel Boeing Commercial Airplanes
Tze Siu Boeing Commercial Airplanes
1992 G J Bastiaans Iowa State Univ
Steve D Braymen Iowa State Univ
S G Burns Iowa State Univ
Shelley J Coldiron Iowa State Univ
Iowa State Univ Iowa State Univ
R S Deinhammer Iowa State Univ
William D Deninger Iowa State Univ
R P O'Toole Iowa State Univ
Prof Marc D. Porter Iowa State Univ
H R Shanks Iowa State Univ
1991 Lourdes M Birckelbaw NASA Ames Research Center
Lloyd D Corliss NASA Ames Research Center
1990 Mariann F Brown NASA Johnson Space Center
Susan Schentrup NASA Johnson Space Center
1989 Charles W Boppe Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dr Warren H Davis Northrop Grumman Corp
1988 Dr Benton C Clark III Lockheed Martin Astronautics
1987 Charles Blankenship  
Dr Robert J Hayduk National Aero & Space Administration
1986 James A Hare Lockheed Martin Aerospace Systems Group
1985 Charles W Boppe Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1984 Robert J Englar Georgia Institute of Technology
James Nichols US Navy
1983 Dr Carol A Simpson Psycho Linguistic Res Associates
1982 Andre Fort Airbus France
Jean-Jacq Speyer Airbus France
1981 Raymond M Hicks NASA Ames Research Center
1980 Dr Walter S Cremens Lockheed Martin Global Inc
1979 Gary E Erickson Northrop Grumman Corp
Dale J Lorincz Northrop Grumman Corp
William A Moore Northrop Grumman Corp
Andrew M Skow Tiger Century Aircraft Inc
1977 Raymond M Hicks NASA Ames Research Center
Garret N Vanderplatts Vanderplatts R&D
1975 John A Alic  
H Archang Wichita State Univ
1974 Gordon G Grose McDonnell Douglas Corporation
Dr John L Porter Jacobs Technology Inc
V Ralph Pruitt McDonnell Douglas Corporation
Michael J Wendl McDonnell Douglas Corporation
1973 Richard E Hayden Goodrich Aerospace
This is a paper award - nominations are not submitted.