Non-Event Technical Papers


SAE non-event technical papers (formerly known as written-only papers) provide authors the opportunity to publish their original work outside of a specific event’s production timeline. These papers are made available on SAE MOBILUS®, SAE’s robust online digital library platform, on an accelerated pace after a blinded peer-review process and are indexed in Scopus and Engineering Village (Ei Compendex). The goal is to provide authors the flexibility to publish on their own schedules, as well as offer a faster time to publication. 

SAE non-event technical papers require a full manuscript for consideration and peer review. The manuscript should include an abstract, keywords, body content, conclusion, references, and any relevant figures/tables. To submit an original manuscript for review, please go to: All submissions are subject to a plagiarism check.

All SAE Technical Papers and Journals have partnered with Dimensions for citation tracking. Click here for more information.

View Author Guidelines

SAE is accepting applications for Handling Editors for our non-event technical papers. If you are interested, please send your resume to


Handling Editors 

Mike Abbott, Acument Global Technologies, USA

Apoorv Kalyankar, Cummins Emission Solutions Inc, USA

Michael Royce, Retired, USA

Shiva Aher, Ricardo, Inc., USA

Arman Kevric, Bosch Rexroth AG, United Kingdom

Hemi Sagi, ATCRealty LLC, USA 

Tim Alfermann, BorgWarner, USA

Seonghyeon Kim, Hyundai Motor Company, Republic of Korea

Zidago Sako, ATCRealty LLC, USA

Lakshman Anumolu, Convergent Science, Inc., USA

Yongdae Kim, Hanyang University, Republic of Korea

Shakti Saurabh, Cummins Inc, USA

Giacomo Belgiorno, PUNCH Torino, Italy

Kristin Kolodge, J.D. Power, USA 

Vesna Savic, General Motors Corp., USA


Jarrod Carter, Origin Forensics LLC, USA

Raj Kumar, Navistar International Corp Chicago, USA

Bernhard Semlitsch, Vienna University of Technology, Austria

Shuming Chen, Jilin University, China

Hardik Lakhlani, VE Commercial Vehicles Ltd., India

Keivan Shariatmadar, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium

Clifford Chou, Wayne State University, USA

Touré Lee, General Motors Corp., USA

ZiQiang Sheng, General Motors Corp., USA 

Chris Ciesla, CNH Industrial, USA

Bin Li, Concordia University, Canada

Kanwar Bharat Singh, The Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company, Luxembourg

Gabriele Di Blasio, Istituto Motori Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Italy

Lin Li, Liebherr Mining Equipment Newport News Co., USA

Samrendra Singh, CNH Industrial, USA

Tim Drotar, Ford Motor Company, USA

Wei Li, Autoliv, USA

Vijay Srinivasan, Tula Technology Inc., USA

Tom Teiereisen, Compass Consulting Engineers, USA

Chenhui Liu, National Research Council, USA

Don Stevens, Severe Crash Analysis & Reconstruction, LLC, USA

Chaitanya Ghodke, Convergent Science Inc., USA

Jhansi Manda, Valeo, USA

Ken Strohmeyer, Scottsdale Police Dept., USA

Vijai Gopalakrishnan, General Motors Technical Centre India, India

Marc Megel, Southwest Research Institute, USA

He Tang, Eastern Michigan University, USA

Randy Gu, Oakland University, USA

Simona Merola, Istituto Motori Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Italy

Leonid Tartakovsky, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

Amol Gulve, Volvo Group North America, USA

Richard Morton, Consultant, USA

Arpit Tiwari, Gamma Technologies, USA

Santosh Gundlapally, Gamma Technologies, USA

Nagur Noorbhasha, SOFEC Inc., USA

Dattprasad Vernekar, Automotive Consultant, India

Hyeok Hahn, Chevron Corp., USA

Ramachandran Palappalayam, nVIDIA, USA

Bob Welge, Reberts Engineering Development, USA

Akshay Hegde, Mercedes Benz RD India Pvt. Ltd., India

Shantha Kumari Rajendran, Panasonic Automotive, USA

Mohamed Zaher, LHP Engineering Solutions, USA

Adit Joshi, Ford Motor Company, USA

Bertrand Rakoto, SBD Automotive, USA

Jian Zhou, Cummins Inc., USA

Suresh Kumar Kandreegula, VE Commercial Vehicles Ltd., India

Paul Richards, Retired, United Kingdom

Kurt Zielinkski, Honda R&D Americas, USA


SAE China 2020 events: Technical Committee

Language Editing

SAE International recommends that all authors who are non-native English speakers ask a native English speaker, English-department personnel, or a professional language-editing service to review their manuscript before submission. This is not mandatory but will help ensure that journal editors and reviewers fully understand the academic content of the article. Suggested services are as follows (no recommendation is implied, nor should it be inferred for any services):

Institutional Repository Policy

Authors may self-archive their accepted manuscripts (but not the final typeset version) in the institutional repository of their higher education employer and/or in subject-based repositories (but not posted to networking sites of a personal, institutional, or social nature), subject to a six-month embargo period and proper credit to SAE International. 


Open Access for Technical Papers

SAE now offers Open Access for technical papers. For more information, view our open access policy or email any inquiries to