SAE International

SAE's Contributor of the Year Celebration and Award


Tucson, Arizona

SAE Recognizes and Celebrates their Top Contributors and Volunteers

SAE International understands the importance of recognizing our most engaged volunteers for their dedication to the success of our organization.  Their time, knowledge and passion for the betterment of the mobility community allows SAE to develop world class content, publish leading technical standards in both the Aero and Ground Vehicle communities, inspire the minds of future engineers and serve the needs of our students and members worldwide.

SAE Contributor of the Year Celebration


SAE has established an annual event dedicated to recognizing their top volunteers for their contributions to the organization. As part of this invitation only event, SAE will host an Awards dinner, where the Contributor of the Year, SAE's highest honor bestowed on a volunteer, will be presented to one of the attendees (see more information below on the Contributor of the Year Award).

To be invited to the celebration, SAE Staff nominates individuals based on their volunteer and engagement contributions across the organizations. Staff is looking for individuals who provided valuable insight and played a key role in advancing the mobility industry through involvement in SAE activities. For example, he/she might have provided an exceptional level of support and/or leadership over an extended period or as a judge at a Collegiate Design Series.

Those interested in being considered as part a future years Top Contributor Class should contact his/her staff representative and express your interest. Your staff representative can guide you on ways to become more engaged with the organization based on your current level of engagement.

SAE's Contributor of the Year Award


SAE’s Contributor of the Year is our highest honor bestowed on a volunteer for their contributions to the SAE.  From the nominations, a Top Contributor Class is identified and invited to attend the yearly Celebration trip. The Volunteer of the Year if chosen from the Top Contributor Class and announced at the Awards dinner.

Winner of the 2019 Contributor of the Year Award

 Robert Ireland
 Managing Director of Engineering and Maintenance
 Airlines of Americas

Congratulations to the 2019 Top Contributor Class

Mehdi Ahmadian — Virginia Tech Lonnie Dong — Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Jason Kuo — Alberta Transportation Ronald Rath — TECAT Performance Systems
Jacque Bader — Rolls-Royce Corporation Floyd Fazi — Lockheed Martin Corporation Jennifer LaFever — Roush & Yates Racing Engines LLC Thomas Ryan III — T Ryan and Associates
Angela Barber — Mitsubishi Motors R&D of America Inc. Martin Gordon — Rochester Institute of Technology Jacques Leroux — Dow Chemical Canada ULC Pranab Saha — Kolano and Saha Engineers Inc.
Joseph Barkai — JBMC Bob Gruszczynski — Volkswagen of America (Retired) Suzanne Lightman — National Institute of Standards & Technology Daniel Selke — Mercedes-Benz USA LLC
Amalia Batori — Bosch Corporation Robert Ireland — Airlines for America Nhat Mai — Aerofit LLC Brian Sova — Boeing Co.
Lisa Boran — Ford Motor Co. Joseph Jaklic — OSRAM – Automotive AML TLD Simona Silvia Merola — Istituto Motori CNR Robert Steffen — Raytheon Precision Manufacturing
Gary Brown — Carpenter Technology Corporation John Johnson — Michigan Technological University Jennifer Morrison — Mazda Motor Corporation Leonid Tartakovsky — Technion Israel Inst of Technology
Jeffrey Calcaterra — US Air Force Adit Joshi — Ford Motor Company Shadrach Nannney — Parker Hannifin Corporation Robert Voros — Textron Aviation
Vern Caron — Caron Engineering Inc. Steven Karamihas — University of Michigan-Ann Arbor Kinsey Olson Sovern Robert Wagner — Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Dean Case — Motivo Engineering Laura Klauser — General Motors Mark Paul — Rolls-Royce Corporation Rhonda Walthall — Collins Aerospace
Maura Chmielowiec — General Motors John Krzeszewski — Aptiv Alan Pearson — Whitehorse Manufacturing Quality Consultants LLC Nadir Yilmaz — Howard University
Alba Colon — Hendrick Motorsports of America Paul Kunder — Amera-Veritas Inc. Ravi Rajamani — drR2 Consulting Mark Zachos — DG Technologies