SAE's Contributor of the Year Celebration and Award

SAE's 2021 Contributor Class

Contributor Award

SAE’s Contributor of the Year is our highest honor bestowed on a volunteer for their contributions to SAE.  From the nominations, a Top Contributor Class is identified and invited to attend the yearly Celebration trip. The Volunteer of the Year is chosen from the Top Contributor Class and announced at the annual Awards dinner.

2021 Contributor Class Video

Winner of the 2021 Contributor of the Year Award

Myra Blanco
Virginia Tech Transportation Institute
Director of Advancement, Partnerships & Outreach

Myra is the ultimate advocate and ally to develop opportunities for women in STEM and diversity, equity, and inclusion. These topics were in the spotlight during 2020 and she found multiple opportunities to advance these critical initiatives, creatively integrating them through SAE engagement, VTTI and her work with Daimler. Myra's support of SAE Awards helps to generate awareness while her leadership by example in submitting nominations for colleagues and peers not only recognized them, but aids in encouraging others to nominate.

Myra's enthusiasm and passion for DEI is contagious, shining through her volunteer contributions and leadership. Her many contributions have enabled SAE to deliver on the mission of advancing mobility knowledge and solutions. Myra is a connector and an outstanding role model for life-long learning, work-life integration, and resilience to inspire and enable future growth across generations.

Congratulations to the 2021 Top Contributor Class


Richard Fox, Aircraft Environment Solutions Inc.

Matthew Meyer, General Motors

Mike O’Neil, Essex Parts Services, Inc.

John Steiner, Mecanica Scientific Services Corp.

Mark Pope, DG Technologies

Steve Sayovitz, Energy Harbor

Christian Yaeger, Leap Racing

Seong Rhee, SKR Consulting LLC

Myra Blanco, Virginia Tech Transportation Institute

Dave Andrea, Plante Moran

Barbara Wendling, Quantitative Scientific Solutions

Gregory Saunders, Retired from Department of Defense

Rhonda Brender, Nexteer Automotive

Steve Woodard, Retired

Kevin Walsh, The Boeing Company

Allison Collins, Ford Motor Company

Mark Zachos, DG Technologies

Ritesh Ghimire, U. S. Federal Aviation Administration (FAA),
Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) Integration Office

Roy W. Goudy, Nissan Technical Center North America

Chad Zagorski, General Motors

Robert Ireland, Airlines for America

Fred J. Kelley II, Prysmian Group

Mark Boeckmann, Polaris Inc.


Roy Link, Link Engineering Co

Tim Fornes, Parker-Lord


SAE's 2020 Contributor Class

Contributor Award

Winner of the 2020 Contributor of the Year Award

 Dean Case
 Motivo Engineering

An active SAE Member since his freshman year at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo in 1981, Mr. Case was a student leader, including being an SAE-sponsored WISE (Washington Internships for Students of Engineering) intern. He served as a board member with both the SAE Southern California and Detroit Sections. He has been a Distinguished Younger Member, awarded a FISITA Young Engineer Fellowship, sponsored more than 50 new SAE Members, served on multiple SAE International committees, published two SAE papers and spoken at dozens of universities for more than 30 years.

In 2019, Dean was influential in supporting dozens of students to continue as SAE Professional Members after graduation. He gave presentations to students and young professionals at the 2019 WCX™ World Congress Experience in Detroit, participated in SAE’s Student University Days initiative, was a featured guest in the SAE’s online Mentor Mixer series, and is the most requested presenter in the organization’s Industrial Lecture Series program.

Congratulations to the 2020 Top Contributor Class

Amalia Batori
Robert Bosch LLC

Derek Logan
Nissan Technical Center North America

Kelly Schmitz
Cummins Inc.

Anne O'Neil
Anne O'Neil Consultants

Don Robins
Retired General Motors

Mark Herman
GM Retired

Brandon Hance
United States Steel Corporation

George Nicols
Toyota Motor North America

Maura Chmielowiec
General Motors LLC

Carla Bailo
Center for Automotive Research

Glenn Cashion
North Carolina Volleyball/Sand Volleyball USA JR Olympics - Director
North Carolina A&T State University - Adjunct Professor

Dr. Richard Greaves FREng. FSAE FInstP
Retired, CTO Emeritus of Meggitt Plc

Craig Barnes
Retired, Cummins Inc. & Founder and President, CAB Consulting LLC

James Shaw
Fastway Engineering

Scott Sluder
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Danny Bocci
John Deere

Jason Rounds

Steve Rohde
Retired GM

Dave Andrea
Plante Moran

Jennifer Bastiaan
Kettering University

Sue Bai
Honda R&D Americas, LLC

David Downey
Downey Aviation Services

Jennifer Morrison
Mazda North American Operations

Ward Atkinson

Dean Case
Motivo Engineering

Justin McNew
JMC Rota Inc.


SAE's 2019 Contributor Class

Contributor Award

Winner of the 2019 Contributor of the Year Award

Bob Ireland
Airlines for America

"I think I speak for SAE volunteers in general in saying that we don't look for glory in this work but being recognized among our peers is a wonderful experience." - Bob Ireland

Congratulations to the 2019 Top Contributor Class

Mehdi Ahmadian — Virginia Tech

Lonnie Dong — Lockheed Martin Aeronautics

Jason Kuo — Alberta Transportation

Ronald Rath — TECAT Performance Systems

Jacque Bader — Rolls-Royce Corporation

Floyd Fazi — Lockheed Martin Corporation

Jennifer LaFever — Roush & Yates Racing Engines LLC

Thomas Ryan III — T Ryan and Associates

Angela Barber — Mitsubishi Motors R&D of America Inc.

Martin Gordon — Rochester Institute of Technology

Jacques Leroux — Dow Chemical Canada ULC

Pranab Saha — Kolano and Saha Engineers Inc.

Joseph Barkai — JBMC

Bob Gruszczynski — Volkswagen of America (Retired)

Suzanne Lightman — National Institute of Standards & Technology

Daniel Selke — Mercedes-Benz USA LLC

Amalia Batori — Bosch Corporation

Robert Ireland — Airlines for America

Nhat Mai — Aerofit LLC

Brian Sova — Boeing Co.

Lisa Boran — Ford Motor Co.

Joseph Jaklic — OSRAM – Automotive AML TLD

Simona Silvia Merola — Istituto Motori CNR

Robert Steffen — Raytheon Precision Manufacturing

Gary Brown — Carpenter Technology Corporation

John Johnson — Michigan Technological University

Jennifer Morrison — Mazda Motor Corporation

Leonid Tartakovsky — Technion Israel Inst of Technology

Jeffrey Calcaterra — US Air Force

Adit Joshi — Ford Motor Company

Shadrach Nannney — Parker Hannifin Corporation

Robert Voros — Textron Aviation

Vern Caron — Caron Engineering Inc.

Steven Karamihas — University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

Kinsey Olson Sovern

Robert Wagner — Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Dean Case — Motivo Engineering

Laura Klauser — General Motors

Mark Paul — Rolls-Royce Corporation

Rhonda Walthall — Collins Aerospace

Maura Chmielowiec — General Motors

John Krzeszewski — Aptiv

Alan Pearson — Whitehorse Manufacturing Quality Consultants LLC

Nadir Yilmaz — Howard University

Alba Colon — Hendrick Motorsports of America

Paul Kunder — Amera-Veritas Inc.

Ravi Rajamani — drR2 Consulting

Mark Zachos — DG Technologies