Browse Publications Collections E-JOURNAL-01

SAE International Journal of Aerospace

Journal Impact Factor™: 0.4

ISSN: 1946-3855, e-ISSN: 1946-3901
Frequency: 3x/year; March, July, November

Call for Papers for Focus Issues

Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Ravi Rajamani, Independent Consultant; Research Professor, University of Connecticut; President, IDCA, USA

Watch Ravi Rajamani’s informative video from Move with SAE Mobilus®

Click here for the Joint Open Access Special Issue from JAERO and IJPHM

Author Resources
Call for Papers
Editorial Board
Ethics Statement
Instructions for Authors
Library Recommendation Form
Peer-Review Policy
Published Volumes Online
Submit Your Research

Indexed in
ESCI (Emerging Sources Citation Index, Web of Science)
Engineering Village (Ei Compendex)
IET Inspec
Japan Science and Technology (JST) Agency

Aims and Scope
The SAE International Journal of Aerospace is the preeminent source for peer-reviewed, cutting-edge engineering research within the aerospace industry. The journal is an essential resource for anyone in industry, academia, government, and research organizations trying to understand the latest progress in aerospace engineering. It covers both mature and emerging technologies, and includes technical articles on current technology, archival-quality historic findings, and research articles on the future of aerospace engineering. The journal covers a range of subject areas, including:

  • Aerodynamics, thermodynamics, and structures
  • Modeling and simulation
  • Materials and various traditional and modern manufacturing techniques, including additive and robotic
  • Controls, diagnostics, and prognostics
  • Propulsion systems, both conventional and modern, such as electric, hybrid, and alternative
  • System safety, reliability, and certification
  • Human factors
  • Software, cybersecurity, and artificial intelligence
  • Avionics
  • Crewed and autonomous aircraft and air traffic management systems
  • Fixed-wing and rotorcraft, both normal and transport categories
  • Spacecraft
  • Supply chain and logistics
  • Continued airworthiness, maintenance, and aftermarket systems

This journal is a member of COPE (Committee on Publication Ethics). The journal’s publication processes and ethics policies follow COPE guidelines.

Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Ravi Rajamani, Independent Consultant; Research Professor, University of Connecticut; President, IDCA, USA
Ravi Rajamani is an independent consultant who has accumulated close to 30 years of experience in the area of aerospace propulsion and energy, specifically in data analytics and model-based methods for controls and diagnostics. He has many publications to his name including a book (Electric Flight Technology: The Unfolding of a New Future), book chapters, journal and conference papers, and patents. Prior to his current job, Ravi worked at Meggitt, United Technologies Corporation, and General Electric Company. Dr. Rajamani has a BTech (ME) from IIT Delhi, an MS (Automation) from IISc, Bangalore, an MBA from the University of Connecticut, and a PhD (EE) from the University of Minnesota. He is active within SAE’s Propulsion Health Management (E-32) and Integrated Vehicle Health Management (HM-1) committees; and its Electric Aircraft, Digital & Data, and IVHM Steering Groups. He is also active in the PHM Society, serving on its board of directors, and he was the general chair of the 2014 European PHM conference in Nantes, France. Ravi was formerly a Visiting Professor of Aerospace, Transport and Manufacturing at Cranfield University. He has been elected a fellow of SAE and IMechE and is a recipient of the SAE Forest R. McFarland Award. He also serves as a board member of the Edison Tech Center in Schenectady, NY.

Associate Editors
Dan Fogarty, The Boeing Company, USA
Lars Fucke, The Boeing Company, Germany
T. Hikmet Karakoc, Eskisehir Technical University, Turkey
Chetan S. Kulkarni, SGT. Inc, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
Jeremy Laliberté, Carleton University, Canada
Chien-Shing Lee, Purdue University, USA
Y. Charles Lu, University of Kentucky, USA
Richard C. Millar, George Washington University, USA
José Carlos Páscoa, Universidade da Beira Interior, Portugal
Qiulin Qu, Beihang University (BUAA), China
Gradmir Radovanovic, Honeywell, USA
Dnyanesh G. Rajpathak, General Motors R&D, USA
Anapathur Ramesh, The Boeing Company, USA
Stuart Taylor, Raytheon - Space and Airborne Systems, USA
Andy Wallington, The Boeing Company, USA
Yaseen Zaidi, University of the West of England, Bristol, UK


Subscribers can view annotate, and download all of SAE's content. Learn More »