Browse Publications Collections E-JOURNAL-05

SAE International Journal of Materials and Manufacturing

Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Yung-Li Lee, FCA US LLC Technology Center, USA

Indexed in
ESCI (Emerging Sources Citation Index, Web of Science)
Engineering Village (Ei Compendex)
JSTOR Sustainability Collection

Author Resources
Call for Papers
Published Volumes
Subscription Options

Aims and Scope
The SAE International Journal of Materials and Manufacturing publishes peer-reviewed, authoritative, and in-depth research in the areas of materials, design, and manufacturing. In addition to analytical findings, the Journal addresses integration and implementation of scientific and engineering practices that advance the state of the art and benefit society. The Journal is assembled to present and promote wide-ranging research of the following areas:

  • materials—such as materials development, analysis, modeling, and testing (including ferrous/non-ferrous materials, composites, nano-technologies and coatings)
  • design—such as design analysis, modeling, simulations, and optimization (including robust design, durability, reliability, quality, uncertainty, and sustainability)
  • manufacturing—such as manufacturing practices, process, simulations, and methodologies (including forming, joining, assembling, lean manufacturing, and supply chain).

Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Yung-Li Lee, FCA US LLC Technology Center, USA
Dr. Yung-Li Lee is a Senior Technical Fellow in Durability Science & Technology at the FCA US LLC Technology Center in Auburn Hills, Michigan. He has been with Chrysler since 1988, and is responsible for facilitating the development and implementation of state-of-the-art durability technologies for product analysis, testing and designs. He has a BS in Civil Engineering from National Central University in Taiwan, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Structural Engineering from University of Wisconsin-Madison. He is an Adjunct Professor in Mechanical Engineering of the Oakland University in Michigan, where he has been teaching the three different graduate-level fatigue courses since 1997.

Dr. Lee is an Associate Editor of International Journal of Reliability and Safety. He is a member of International Scientific Committee for International Conference on Fatigue Design 2015 and 2017 in Senlis, France. He was the SAE LSG Committee Chairman (2015-2016), the SAE Material Engineering Activities Chairperson (2013-2015), and the SAE Materials Modeling and Testing Committee Chairman (2009-2011). He also served in the SAE Fellow Selection Committee (2013-2016) and in the Speed Mentoring Program in 2016 SAE World Congress. Dr. Lee is a Fellow of Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE). He is also the recipient of 2017 SAE International Leader Citation Award for the recognition of his contributions to the success of SAE International initiatives, 2006 SAE Forrest McFarland award for outstanding service to SAE Engineering Board, and of the 2012 SAE Henry Ford II Distinguished Award for the extraordinary contribution to Automotive Engineering. He has co-authored two fatigue textbooks and published more than 100 peer-reviewed publications. He also received Design for Six Sigma (DFSS) Green Belt and Black Belt Certifications from ASI in 2008 and 2012, respectively.

Associate Editors
Beena Anand, DTE Energy, USA
Mark E. Barkey, Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, The University of Alabama, USA
Guofei Chen, United States Steel Automotive Center, USA
Ming Chen, USS, USA
Anindya Deb, Indian Institute of Science, India
Yaomin Dong, Kettering University, USA
Efthimio Duni, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles, Italy
Carlos C. Engler-Pinto Jr., Ford Motor Company, USA
Ahmed Sherif El-Gizawy, University of Missouri, USA
Alaa E. El-Sharkawy, Ph.D., PE, DFSS BB, Chrysler Group LLC, USA
Randy J. Gu, Oakland University, USA
Huairui (Harry) Guo, Fiat Chrysler Automobiles, USA
Hong-Tae Kang, Ph.D., The University of Michigan-Dearborn, USA
Chien-Shing Lee, Purdue University, USA
Yung-Li Lee, Chrysler Group LLC, USA
Dr. Fan Li, General Motors, USA
Pai-Chen Lin, National Chung Cheng University, Chia-Yi, Taiwan, R.O.C.
Kuang-Jen Liu, Fiat Chrysler Automotive, USA
Y. Charles Lu, University of Kentucky, USA
Aihua (Alan) Luo, The Ohio State University, USA
Behzad Mahmoudi, AISIN Technical Center of America, Inc., USA
Vijaykumar Mannari, Eastern Michigan University, USA
Zissimos Mourelatos, Oakland University, USA
Jwo Pan, University of Michigan, USA
Srikanth Pilla, Clemson University, USA
Prakash Sathe, Global Management Consultants, USA
Susan Sawyer-Beaulieu, University of Windsor, Canada
Guangtian (Gavin) Song, Ford Motor Company, USA
Herman Tang, Eastern Michigan University, USA
Darryl S. Taylor, Ph.D., The Boeing Company, USA
Ravi Thyagarajan, U.S. Army RDECOM-TARDEC, USA
Tau Tyan, Ford Motor Company, USA
Jonathan Weiler, Meridian Lightweight Technologies, Canada
Lianxiang Yang, Oakland University, USA
Ren-Jye Yang, Chung Yuan Christian University, Taiwan, R.O.C.
Xiaobo Yang, Oshkosh Corp., USA
Jay Zhou, Ford Motor Company, USA
Qian (Beth) Zou, Ph.D., Oakland University, USA


Subscribers can view annotate, and download all of SAE's content. Learn More »