Browse Publications Collections E-JOURNAL-09

SAE International Journal of Transportation Safety

Editor-in-Chief: Warren Hardy, Ph.D., Virginia Tech, USA

Indexed in
ESCI (Emerging Sources Citation Index, Web of Science)
Engineering Village (Ei Compendex)
JSTOR Sustainability Collection

Aims and Scope
The SAE International Journal of Transportation Safety provides a forum for peer-reviewed scholarly works concerning all aspects of injury causation and mitigation associated with any transportation system. This includes safety mechanisms, impact, and injury response and tolerance on multiple scales, with the objective of developing restraint, vehicle, and infrastructure environments that are safer for the occupant, rider, passerby, and warfighter. Broad areas such as biomechanics, crashworthiness, accident reconstruction, and physical and computational modeling are within the Journal’s scope.

Call for Papers

General Information and Forms for Journals

Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief: Warren Hardy, Ph.D., Virginia Tech, USA
Hardy is an Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Virginia Tech, is part of the core faculty of the School of Biomedical Engineering and Sciences, and also has appointments in the Wake Forest University Bowman Gray School of Medicine. He serves as Director of the Virginia Tech-Wake Forest University Center for Injury Biomechanics on the VT campus. After earning his bachelor’s degree in engineering science (bioengineering option) from the University of Michigan, Hardy received a master’s degree in mechanical engineering (biomechanics) and Ph.D. in biomedical engineering from Wayne State University. Hardy was a Ford Graduate Fellow and is currently a College of Engineering Faculty Fellow. His research interests focus on traumatic brain injury, aortic rupture, abdominal injury, and combat-related trauma. He consistently organizes and chairs sessions for the SAE World Congress and the World Congress of Biomechanics, and is a former chair of the Scientific Program Committee of the Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine. He is a member of the Stapp Advisory Committee, and also holds membership in SAE International, ASME, IEEE, AAAM, and BMES.

Associate Editors
Philippe Beillas, University Lyon 1–IFSTTAR, France
Mallikarjuna Bennur, General Motors, USA
John Bolte IV, The Ohio State University, USA
Clifford Chou, Wayne State University, USA
Bruce Donnelly, NHTSA VRTC, Ret., USA
Clay Gabler, Virginia Tech, USA
Kashiro Ono, Japan Automobile Research Institute, Japan
Joseph Pellettiere, FAA Aviation Safety, USA
Hollie Pietsch, RDECOM-TARDEC, USA
Dave Raymond, California State University, Los Angeles, USA
Matt Reed, University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute, USA
Mike Tegtmeyer, U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA
Chris Van Ee, Design Research Engineering, Wayne State University, USA


This product is available for a free two-week trial. Take the Free Trial »