Browse Publications Collections E-JOURNAL-08

SAE International Journal of Alternative Powertrains

Editor-in-Chief: Zoran Filipi, Ph.D., Clemson University, USA

Indexed in
ESCI (Emerging Sources Citation Index, Web of Science)
Engineering Village (Ei Compendex)
JSTOR Sustainability Collection

Author Resources
Call for Papers
Published Volumes
Subscription Options

Aims and Scope
The SAE International Journal of Alternative Powertrains provides a forum for peer-reviewed scholarly publication of original research and review papers that address challenges and present opportunities in alternative and electric powertrains and propulsion technology. The Journal strives to facilitate discussion between researchers, engineers, academic faculty and students, and industry practitioners working with systems as well as components, and the technological aspects and functions of powertrains and propulsion systems alternative to the traditional combination of internal combustion engine and mechanical transmission. The editorial scope of the Journal includes all technical aspects of alternative propulsion technologies, including, but not limited to, electric drives and electromobility systems, hybrid technology, battery and super-capacitor technology, power electronics, hydraulic drives, energy storage systems for automotive applications, fuel cell technology, and charging and smart grid infrastructures.

Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief: Zoran Filipi, Ph.D., Clemson University, USA
Filipi is the Timken Endowed Chair in Vehicle Design and Development at Clemson University. Prior to that, he served as a research professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Michigan and Director of the Center for Engineering Excellence through Hybrid Technology. His research interests are in alternative and hybrid powertrain systems, advanced IC engine concepts, alternative fuels, and energy for transportation. Ongoing research efforts are in the area of hybrid propulsion systems with a focus on architecture, design and control of electric and hydraulic hybrid powertrains, and powertrain-in-the-loop integration. He is the recipient of the SAE Forest R. McFarland Award, the IMechE Donald Julius Groen Award, and the U of M Research Faculty Achievement Award and is an SAE Fellow.

Associate Editors
Hua (Kevin) Bai, University of Michigan—Dearborn, USA
Nicolò Cavina, University of Bologna, Italy
Michael Duoba, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Ir. T. (Theo) Hofman, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Netherlands
Xiaosong Hu, Chongqing University, China
Rajit Johri, Ford Motor Company, USA
Alvaro Masias, Ford Motor Company, USA
Simona Onori, Stanford University, USA
Cesare Pianese, University of Salerno, Italy
Marco Sorrentino, University of Salerno, Italy
Rui Xiong, Ph.D., Beijing Institute of Technology, China


Subscribers can view annotate, and download all of SAE's content. Learn More »