Driver and Passenger Air Bag Unit Assemblies 800293

The air bag restraint system or automatic restraint system is specifically designed to control forces and deceleration to the human body during an automobile accident. The three basic components comprising the air bag restraint system include: 1) the crash sensor(s), the diagnostic package for determining operability status, and the driver and front passenger air bag assemblies.
The information presented is limited to a description and the operational features of the driver and passenger unit assemblies; parts which are located in the steering wheel and instrument panel respectively. Both assemblies consist of three basic components: 1) the inflator, 2) the module, and 3) the air bag.


Subscribers can view annotate, and download all of SAE's content. Learn More »


Members save up to 17% off list price.
Login to see discount.
Special Offer: Download multiple Technical Papers each year? TechSelect is a cost-effective subscription option to select and download 12-100 full-text Technical Papers per year. Find more information here.