Refine Your Search

Search Results

Viewing 1 to 5 of 5

Charles M. Manly Memorial Medal - Participate - SAE International

Established in 1928, this award annually recognizes the author(s) of the best paper(s) relating to theory or practice in the design or construction of, or research on, aerospace engines, their parts, components, or accessories at a meeting of the Society or its sections during the calendar year. Manly served as SAE President in 1919 and following his death, many of his associates formed a committee to establish a memorial as a lasting tribute to his work in aeronautic engineering. The award consists of a framed certificate, a bronze medal, and a $1500 honorarium and is presented each year at an SAE aerospace meeting.

Max Bentele Award for Engine Technology Innovation

Established in 2001, this award annually recognizes an SAE member whose work has furthered innovation in the manufacture, design and improvement of engine technology for ground, air or space vehicles. The award honors Max Bentele for his contributions to the field of mobility engines and his encouragement for others to innovate and promote advances in the area. The award is designated for engineers who have at most been out of school for ten years, who have made a major contribution through a new idea, concept, innovation or application which provides a recognized improvement in engine technology and which has been verified through proof of concept demonstrations. It is intended to recognize the global nature of the SAE and the breadth of the mobility community that it serves. The award is made possible by a contribution from the Max Bentele Foundation. The award consists of a engraved memento, a $6,000 honorarium, and a copy of Dr. Bentele's book "Engine Revolutions."

SAE John Johnson Award for Outstanding Research in Diesel Engines - Participate - SAE International

Established in 2008, this award recognizes outstanding accomplishments and leadership in the area of diesel engines. Two awards are given each year, one for Best Paper and the other, the Diesel Engine Research Medal, given to an individual for outstanding leadership in research and development in the field of diesel engines through a singular accomplishment or lifetime achievement. The Best Paper award recognizes the authors of an original and outstanding technical paper presented at an SAE meeting on the subject of diesel engines in the on- or off-road industries. Preferably the paper will be published in an SAE Journal and must address research advancements in diesel engines regarding efficiency and low emissions achieved by innovative experimental and modeling research of the engine, fuel and/or after treatment systems. Oral presentation scores must also be above average.

Harry L. Horning Memorial Award - Participate - SAE International

Established in 1938, this award annually recognizes the author(s) of the best paper(s) or an individual’s distinguished accomplishments relating to the better mutual adaptation of fuels and internal combustion engines presented at a meeting of the Society or any of its sections during any calendar year. It may be presented to an individual for distinguished accomplishment in engine fuel relationships, in which case the individual is requested to present a Horning Memorial Lecture on an appropriate subject at a designated meeting of the Society. The award preserves the memory of the dedication of SAE's 1925 President, Harry L. Horning, to the pursuit of improved mutual adaptability of engines and fuels and serves as a motivation for others to follow in his footsteps. The award consists of a framed certificate, bronze medal and a $1200 honorarium and is presented at an SAE event.

Cliff Garrett Turbomachinery Engineering Award - Participate - SAE International

Established in 1984, this award promotes engineering developments and the presentation of SAE papers on turbomachinery and/or developments that enable or advance the use of turbomachinery. The award honors Cliff Garrett and the inspiration he provided to engineers by his example, support, encouragement, and many contributions as an aerospace pioneer. To perpetuate recognition of Garrett's achievements and dedication as an aerospace pioneer, SAE administers an annual lecture by a distinguished authority in the engineering of turbomachinery and/or engineering related to creating, enabling, or advancing applications of turbomachinery in power systems, on-highway, off-highway, aircraft, and/or spacecraft uses. The award is made possible by a contribution from the Garrett Corp. (now a division of Honeywell).