SAE/AEM Outstanding Young Engineer Award

Established in 1996, this award recognizes an outstanding young engineer in the off-highway or powerplant industry. The nomination and the supporting document should clearly state information to judge the individual's capabilities against the qualifications listed below.

  • Degreed engineer from the off-highway or powerplant industry
  • Less than 10 years of industry experience
  • Innovation
  • Leadership
  • Teamwork
  • Integrity
  • Community involvement
  • Leadership in SAE activities

The award consists of a framed certificate and a $500 honorarium and is presented at the SAE Commercial Vehicle Engineering Congress & Exhibition.

Year  Name Employer
2018 Stephen Lanahan Volvo Construction Equipment
2017 Amy Jones John Deere
2016 Erick Scarpone Caterpillar Inc.
2015 Aaron Heintz Caterpillar
2014 Chad Koci Caterpillar Inc
2012 Zeynep Necef Bruce DEng Cummins Inc
2011 Erik Ellifson Oshkosh Corporation
2010 Andrew Mckean John Deere Dubuque Works
2009 Girish Parvate-Patil Caterpillar Tech Center
2008 Kimberly June Larson Caterpillar
2007 Dr Michael Kotzalas TimkenSteel Corporation
2006 Jennifer Rumsey Cummins Engine Co Ltd
2005 Andrea Brazzale-Anderson Caterpillar Inc
2004 Allan Ball Volvo Motor Graders Ltd
1999 Eric Fidler Grove Worldwide
1998 Glen Haegele Cummins Inc
1997 Craig A Kollar Grove Worldwide
1996 Jeffrey Castleman Xolox Corporation

New Nomination Information Coming Soon