SAE International Formula SAE ® Grant Honoring Bill Adam


This award provides funding to a Formula SAE® (FSAE) team to assist with the development of their vehicle design.

Established in 2004, this award honors William R. "Bill" Adam's contribution to FSAE and his lifelong dedication to mentoring young engineers. Bill was a longtime SAE member and was an accomplished automotive industry engineer who helped develop the integrated Manifold-Muffler-Catalyst design.


  • Teams who are currently registered for a Formula SAE competition may apply.
  • Funds may only be used for costs associated with vehicle design in preparation for a Formula competition.
  • Special consideration will be given to those teams who were unable to secure major sponsors for their team.


Members of the Selection Committee are not eligible for the award while serving on the committee. Two years must pass before former members of the Selection Committee are eligible to receive the award.


This includes an honorarium to be used toward the development of the vehicle.

Past Recipients:

2023 University of Pennsylvania  
2022 University of California Santa Barbara  
2021 NIU Formula SAE  
2020 University of Akron  
2019 University of Central Florida  
2018 University of Central Florida  
2017 St. Cloud State University  
2016 Tennessee Tech Motorsports  
2015 Villanova University  
2014 University of California, Davis  
2013 University of North Texas  

Nominations August 12 - September 30