Brake Colloquium & Exhibition - 35th Annual

September 24-27, 2017

Orlando, Florida, USA

JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes

Awards to be Presented at the Brake Colloquium

Dan Mahannah Award-Submit Your Nominations
This award is a memorial to Dan Mahannah. The Dan Mahannah Achievement Award is presented to a distinguished Member of our industry. It recognizes an individual who makes unselfish contributions toward the betterment of the industry and its members; through technological advancements, educational, or promotional endeavors.
Nominations may be submitted to Melissa Jena at

Allan M. Lang Award
This award recognizes the "Best Presentation" given during the SAE Annual Brake Colloquium & Exhibition events. This is a memorial to Allan Michael Lang, who was killed in an avalanche while hiking in Scotland. He was Research Manager at Mintex Don Ltd., a BBA Group company. His Ph.D. was in Mechanical Engineering from Loughborough University in England and his thesis was entitled "An Investigation into Heavy Vehicle Drum Brake Squeal."

2017 Recipients:
Robert Sutherlin Robert Sutherlin-Sutherlin has been the global lead engineer for wheel bearings at General Motors for almost a decade. This role includes overall responsibility for developing and implementing the worldwide strategy for all wheel bearings. His history with bearings spans more than 20 years. Before joining GM, Sutherlin worked at multiple bearing suppliers with various types of bearings for automotive applications. He earned a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering and materials science from Duke University.
Alessandro Sanguineti Alessandro Sanguineti-Sanguineti is a Materials Specialist for Brembo S.p.A., currently working inside the Advanced R&D and Friction Laboratory in Stezzano, Italy. His main research focuses are the study and analysis of traditional and innovative friction materials and polymeric and organic components of the braking system (e.g. brake fluids, seals, and lubricants). Sanguineti earned a master's in materials science (2007) and a Ph.D. in chemical sciences (2011) from the University of Milano-Bicocca.

Best Paper Award
Sponsored by Compact International

2017 Recipient:
Interactive Effects of Thermal Deformation and Wear on Lateral Runout and Thickness Variation of Brake Disc Rotors (2016-01-1939)
Toshikazu Okamura Toshikazu Okamura-Following 18 years as an engine designer for Nissan, Okamura joined KIRIU Corp., which is the second-largest Japanese brake disc and drum supplier. Now, he is responsible for testing and advanced engineering of brake discs and drums. He has presented papers on brake disc rotors at every Brake Colloquium since 2003. Okamura received bachelor's and master's degrees and a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from the University of Tokyo.

Best New Presenter Award
Sponsored by KB Autosys

2017 Recipient:
Craig Stumpf Craig Stumpf-Craig Stumpf is Manager for the Advanced Energy Integration team at General Motors, working with the Greenhouse Gas Strategy Team. His team is responsible for vehicle integration of advanced CO2 technologies in the areas of powertrain, road load, thermal systems, and light electrification. He earned a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering from Lawrence Technological University, a master's in mechanical engineering from Michigan State University, and a master's in business administration from the Kelly School of Business at Indiana University.

Forest R. McFarland Award
This award recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions toward the work of the SAE Engineering Meetings Board (EMB) in the planning, development, and dissemination of technical information through technical meetings, conferences, and professional development programs or outstanding contributions to the EMB operations in facilitating or enhancing the interchanges of technical information. This award is administered by the EMB and honors the late Forest R. McFarland who was himself an outstanding session organizer, chairman of the Passenger Car Activity, and a member of the EMB.

2017 Recipient:
Theo Kaster Theo Kaster is Global Portfolio Director of ZF-TRW brake group and is recognized for his long history of invaluable contributions to the SAE Brake Colloquium. Kaster has been actively involved as an organizer and panelist, providing insight into topics critical for the industry over the past 10-plus years. He is highly regarded as an industry expert in the field of CAE and brake systems. Specifically, Kaster has organized the CAE Brake session. The session brings the leading experts in CAE together to talk about the challenges in reducing time-to-market and preventing field issues with brakes. He has been instrumental in acquiring/volunteering industry folks from Europe when needed for the sessions. He has also reviewed over a dozen technical manuscripts in the field of brake technology.



Platinum Sponsors
  • NUCAP Logo

Gold Sponsors
  • KB Autosys logo
  • Link logo
  • UTIL Group

Silver Sponsors
  • Wanda

Bronze Sponsors
  • Ask Logo
  • Brembo
  • ITT
  • Fibrox
  • Lapinus logo
  • Penoles logo
  • Sangsin
  • Teijin Aramid
  • Wolverine

Conference Supporters
  • Compact brake logo
  • Dupont Kevlar logo
  • Exploiter
  • KMI
  • Peerless logo
  • TMD Friction logo
  • TRC

Golf Outing Sponsor
  • Asama Logo
  • Advics
  • Brembo
  • Gene Ellefson logo
  • GMT
  • HiPad logo
  • Hitachi logo
  • Link Engineering Company
  • Masubrake Company
  • Mobis logo
  • New World Friction Momentum logo
  • Nisshinbo logo
  • Otsuka logo
  • PAC
  • Showa Denko Carbon Inc
  • Timken Logo
  • Teijin Aramid
  • Trelleborg
  • UTIL Group
  • Waupaca
  • Wolverine